Konami Teases New Game In Beloved Series For Tokyo Game Show

Picture: Konami

Konami announced its Tokyo Game Show line-up earlier today. The annual convention, which starts on 15th September, will play host to several developers and publishers. We’ve already talked about one title that snuck into the company’s line-up — the 1996 arcade game Cannon Dancer — but it’s also been teasing another announcement in a series that’s “loved all over the world”, but not from one of its biggest series, CGV reports.

On 16th September at 3:30pm JST (that’s 11:30pm PST on 15thgold 2:30am EST / 7:30am BST on 16th), Konami will be announcing a new title related to a beloved series from the company. This is enough to get anyone excited, of course. However, VGC’s source has reported that this new title will likely be related to a smaller project, and not those rumors of a Castlevania, Silent Hill, and Metal Gear Solid revival.

So, what does that leave us with? Konami is already showcasing Bomberman R 2 during the event. There’s always the Suikoden series — though franchise creator Yoshitaka Murayama is off creating his own Kickstarter spiritual successor in Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes. However, how about a new Lost in Blue game?

During this unknown announcement, voice actor Yuji Kaji — who’s famous for voicing Adol in Ys VIII and Ys IX, Takumi in Fire Emblem Fates, and Hope Estheim in Final Fantasy XIII — will be making a guest appearance, as someone who is apparently representing the fans.

We’ll try not to get our hopes up too much, but we’re at least curious. Konami has been doing a great job with its compilations as of recent — the Contra Anniversary Collection, Castlevania Anniversary Collection, and the Castlevania Advance Collection are all fantastic, and the just-released Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Cowabunga Collection is also kicking shell.

You can check out Konami’s full TGS 2022 line-up over on its official website

What would you like to see Konami bring back? What do you think this announcement will be? Share your thoughts or worries in the comments!

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.